25th January 2018

Sir Nicholas Soames: To ask the Secretary of State for Education, how many specialist maths schools his Department has established since 2011; and how many he plans to establish in each of the next five years.

Nick Gibb, Minister of State for School Standards: Currently, there are two maths schools, Exeter Mathematics School and King’s College London Mathematics School, both of which opened in 2014.

The Government has not set a specific target for the number of maths schools it will establish in each of the next five years. We want to work with leading universities to establish high quality schools, ensuring our most mathematically able students succeed in mathematics related disciplines at top universities.

| Hansard